OUR VIDEOS GALLERY MEMBER SPONSORSHIP VENDOR SPONSORSHIP

User Tag List

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 57

Thread: A Guide on installing your own remote central locking in under 20 minutes

  1. #1
    In Moderation
    mudski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Eltham North
    Posts
    13,917
    Thanks
    6,346
    Thanked 8,044 Times in 4,946 Posts
    Mentioned
    342 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    A Guide on installing your own remote central locking in under 20 minutes

    Note this is for replacing the defunked genuine Ni$$san unit with a Warlock KG400 kit.
    This was all done on my 2001 GUII, 3.0ltr. Different models and engines may differ.

    All was done directly where the original wireless remote controller sits. Under the LHS of the dash, to the right of the glove box.
    No need to run any other wire to anywhere else. Also the locks are positive triggered too. The kit I bought, and assuming all are like this, has the wiring for both positive and negative triggers.
    So the coloured wires to look out for are :

    • Indicator output : Green/ Red
    • Indicator output : Green / Yellow
    • 12V feed : White / Red (Thicker wire than the others)
    • Door Lock output : Light Blue (Thicker wire than the others)
    • Door Unlock output : Light Blue / Red (Thicker wire than the others)

    The kit you buy will have instructions telling you what their wires are for so that part is real easy. It was working it out on the truck end, but I got it and it works a treat.
    So all can be done and installed in the one spot and after I worked out the wiring, you could do this in under 20minutes, easy.
    Now I just have to figure out how to learn the spare remote. The instructions I have are in Klingon I reckon.
    Hope this helps anyone.
    All I want to do now is work out what I can use the trunk release button for. Remote switching flood lamps maybe?
    Last edited by mudski; 10th February 2014 at 02:04 PM.

  2. The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to mudski For This Useful Post:

    AB (26th June 2012), Bloodyaussie (18th March 2013), GUDriver (19th May 2016), meh (13th June 2013), MudRunnerTD (11th October 2012), NP99 (18th March 2013), Pukie83 (12th October 2012), rusty_nail (26th May 2015)

  3. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

     

  4. #2
    Expert the godfather's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Piara Waters, WA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 216 Times in 99 Posts
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sweet, mine is munted so I will be needing to change it soon.....after September that is. What brand did you get and where from?

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to the godfather For This Useful Post:

    Pukie83 (12th October 2012)

  6. #3
    In Moderation
    mudski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Eltham North
    Posts
    13,917
    Thanks
    6,346
    Thanked 8,044 Times in 4,946 Posts
    Mentioned
    342 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I bought my kit from JB Hi-Fi. Was $95 but the Jaycar kits looked rubbish and I didn't like the remotes they had. I saw a few on Ebay but I wanted to get one local and straight away. I have a bad habit of not waiting for things when I decide I want them...
    But seriously it was real easy to do. I just used the Wire taps : http://www.narva.com.au/products/bro...inerswire-taps to tap into the line.
    Once I do the extra glove box mod I will solder the wires in. It was a little tight up there to get my iron in....

  7. #4
    Expert the godfather's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Piara Waters, WA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 216 Times in 99 Posts
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sweet. My Bro is a JB Manager. I will go visit him soon. Should stay away from wire taps, they tend to catch fire in my experience. I think I will solder them straight up.

  8. #5
    In Moderation
    mudski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Eltham North
    Posts
    13,917
    Thanks
    6,346
    Thanked 8,044 Times in 4,946 Posts
    Mentioned
    342 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It was the Warlock KG400 it got too. And yeah the wire taps will be replaced by soldering. I will do this when I do the glove box mod as I'll have everything out then so more room.

  9. #6
    Beginner Pukie83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i own an 08 dx no keyless standard but accutors are there will the wiring be there?

  10. #7
    In Moderation
    mudski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Eltham North
    Posts
    13,917
    Thanks
    6,346
    Thanked 8,044 Times in 4,946 Posts
    Mentioned
    342 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You will have to confirm will other on this one. Because if you don't already have keyless the way I did it you can't. As I basically removed the ni$$an control module and wired in the after market one. BUT. You may have the wiring going up under the dash already there for it. As I do notice, well on my ST atleast that there is plugs all over the car that are unused. Like for cruise control or added extra's one would get in a top model. The wiring is the same for all they just don't plug the goodies into it.
    Might be worth checking out.

  11. #8
    Beginner Pukie83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks! thought it should be there! atleast i know where to look for it?

  12. #9
    Beginner Pukie83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the wiring is there but some of the wires are different colour (the output wires)

  13. #10
    In Moderation
    mudski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Eltham North
    Posts
    13,917
    Thanks
    6,346
    Thanked 8,044 Times in 4,946 Posts
    Mentioned
    342 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Indicator output you mean? If so, use a test test to find which wire is for left and right indicators. Or if its the door lock outputs, you should, I mean should be able to still use a test test on each wire, lock the door and fire the wire that way?? I don't know if you can feed it 12v and see if it locks as you might hit the wrong wire and do damage...
    I am just pulling at strings here now as the wires are different colour. Can't see why they would be though...

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to mudski For This Useful Post:

    cossy (18th March 2013)

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •