Thread: DIY advice

Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

DIY advice

G'day guys,

I am new to diesels and just chasing some advice on some DIY mods that i can to my 08 crd that will maybe improve longevity and performance? Any help would be great

Cheers Trav

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Legendary
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,137 Times in 1,001 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    To increase performance I would be fitting a bigger exhaust (2 3/4" or 3") and a performance engine chip.

For reliabillity you need to stay on top of routine servicing using good quality lubricants and filters. For peace of mind I recommend fitting boost and exhaust gas temperature gauges to all turbo diesels, those 2 gauges can tell you a lot about what your engine is doing.
    You could also fit a crank case ventilation filter to stop oil mist going through your inlet system and fouling the mass airflow sensor.

Tony

Thanks
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Trust Tony, have a look here he is our tech advisor, and desn't have shares in any 4wd accessory shops as far as I know. LOL

Tim
    Getting Older Is Unavoidable, Growing Up Is Optional!

Thanks
    Thanked 6,640 Times in 3,287 Posts
    Mentioned
    44 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Pretty much what YNOT said. Yours is still under warranty I assume so be careful with some Mods which Mr Nissan takes a dim view of...

Performance - Chip and Exhaust

Reliability/Longevity - EGT gauge, Scangauge are 'Must haves' IMHO, then a catch can or keep an eye on the MAF sensor is a good idea. Stick with genuine filters etc unless you know what you are doing and watch out for contaminated/dodgy fuel.
    Dolphins are so smart that within a few weeks of captivity, they can train people to stand on the very edge of the pool and throw them fish.

Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)