Advanced
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Ute wags it's tail over bumps

Gday everyone,

Got a quick question that I cannot figure out myself. I have a 1990 GQ ute, big lift with no sway bars and a rear 4 link. I do understand that a sway bar will stop the body roll but this feels like a different issue. When I hit any sort of bump in the road, be it a pothole or even just a crease in the concrete, the back of the truck wobbles around like you are sitting on jelly, slightly side to side and sometimes bad enough that I need to correct the steering.

A mate driving behind me also noticed it one day so it must be a decent wobble, it's basically like the car is wagging it's tail while bouncing around. I am not a mechanic and thought there would be somebody here that could help me out. Am thinking I should replace all the bushings in the 4 link and see if it stiffens up, I know a sway bar would help, but my issue is not with body roll while cornering, but with this weird jelly rear end whenever I hit a bump. Anybody with any ideas or experience with something like this?

Cheers, Sam.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could try replacing the bushes in your arms but it is also a possibility that the 4 link is not set up correctly and your getting lateral movement as a 4 link does not have a panhard to limit side to side movement and relies on the correct geometry.

Advanced
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah that thought came to mind also, the bushes in the arms do look pretty flogged though, I am hoping that is where the lateral play is coming from otherwise it sounds like it could get expensive fast. I think I will stick to my plan of all new bushes and then take it from there, won't hurt replacing them all anyway. Cheers Dominator

Thanks
    Thanked 12,953 Times in 6,829 Posts
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged