PDA

View Full Version : boosting my non turbo gu

snowy
16th March 2012, 03:53 PM
hi guys, im a newbie here hopefully im posting this in the right place. heres a few pics of the turbo setup. if i was to ask questions about boost levels and egts etc where would i be best starting a thread? im having a hard time finding info onwhat boost levels i can run on a non turbo gu.. below are a few pics of the setup. ill post the same pics and info elswhere if you like as i reckon i did pretty good on the cost. in total the setup has only cost me $2250, and is all brand new quality parts via the internet. i still need to intercool it though. running the following,

ebay cast iron manifold with t3 flange, kinugawa TD05H 16G external wastegate turbo, kkr 38mm wastegate, 3 inch turbo back straight through, 4 inch stainless air intake, modified ford xr8 pursuit airbox, made all the exhaust and dump pipe myself. running 10 psi at the moment with boost starting at around 1200 rpm and max boost around 1800 rpm, one and a quarter turns on the pump and egts arent going above 475 deg. quite happy with performance so far

Bigrig
16th March 2012, 03:55 PM
I think 14 lbs is the general consensus on "safe" boost on a diesel mate, but assume that's intercooled also.

No doubt when some others finish work etc, they'll be able to assist!!!

AB
16th March 2012, 03:57 PM
Nice effort mate. I think you should be fine getting responses in this thread but if you don't get answers after a couple of days then I would be putting up a new question so everyone see's it better.

snowy
16th March 2012, 04:20 PM