PDA

View Full Version : Gday + Transfer Case Question

86mq
3rd March 2012, 12:04 AM
Gday Everyone

I'm based in Narrogin WA (a couple of hours from Perth). Saw the great site and thought I'd join up as just bought myself a 1986 3.3TD MQ LWB. She's done a few Ks but the body was in pretty good nick.

I got her a bit cheaper because the transfer case output bearing is on the way out. My question is - Is replacing this bearing a big job? Is it possible to just rip out the transfer case or does the whole gearbox need to come out?

May be a stupid question but I'm pretty new to these old buses. Will also try and have a look at the manuals you have online. May be able to answer my own question.

Have a good one and thanks in advance for any help!

Silver
3rd March 2012, 02:47 AM
Welcome, 86MQ!

I suggest you put the transfer case question over in one of the mechanical threads that fits it best, as some don't look at the intros.

I don't know the answer to your questions - on my 2.8 Q the tfr case sat out by itself connected to the gear box by a jack shaft, but that may not be the case with the 3.3 diesel?

Clunk
3rd March 2012, 03:49 AM
G'day mate welcome aboard , hopefully someone will come along soon enough with an answer for you but like Silver already said, might get a better response if you start up a new thread in the appropriate section

Tweakedoffroad
3rd March 2012, 04:57 AM
G'day mate welcome aboard

growler2058
3rd March 2012, 06:02 AM
G'day mate welcome aboard gotta friendly mob here fulla great info and advice

AB
3rd March 2012, 07:17 AM
Welcome to the forum mate, as mentioned above better to post the question in another section as a lot of people don't read the intro's.

Best of luck!

Sir Roofy
3rd March 2012, 08:03 AM
welcome aboard mate

taslucas
3rd March 2012, 09:42 AM
Gday mate, welcome aboard. I cant help with that one but Im sure youll find the info you need if you have a bit of a look around. Goodluck with it mate.

Maxhead