PDA

View Full Version : What's the difference.

CptClinac
29th January 2012, 10:33 AM
Hi guys,
I'm a newbe. Just joined. found the site while searching for an online manual.
Joined up.
Then couldn't download the manual ! ! ! :(
Spotted the 25 posts rule ! ! ! :(
Never mind. It's cool with me.
We'll get there.

I've just graduated from a terrano to a safari.
Can anyone tell me the difference between a safari and a patrol??? Is there any???

About me.
I'm an electrical /electronic engineer by proffession. (retired).
I'm a boatie by choice (volunteer coastguard skipper. (retired)).
Property manager by requirement (I enjoy this lifestyle by virtue of 2 rental properties).
Safari owner, as part of the boatie. It's about the only thing big enough to tow my boat :)

Dave
(aka Cpt Clinac)
(puzzled ? - search 'linac boat' )

youngseal
29th January 2012, 10:50 AM
Check out the diy thread and tell us what you did today on your 4x4...i hope you enjoy your browsing!

Clunk
29th January 2012, 11:02 AM
g'day mate and welcome aboard............... the main difference is the electrical system, I believe Safari's run off 24V and Patrols off 12V. Here in Aus Safari's are generally Japanese imports........

growler2058
29th January 2012, 11:06 AM
Gday Dave welcome aboard gotta friendly mob here full of great info and advice. As Clunk said i think safaris are 24v, but i thought they were also the "high" roof version.....trust me ive beeen known to be wrong before

Clunk
29th January 2012, 11:16 AM
I think you can get high roof in both safari and patrol but much rarer in patrol guise................... XLR8's high top was a Patrol.......................... there's also a few difference in specs, as in the fruit they come with but I couldn't tell you what they were

Sir Roofy
29th January 2012, 12:02 PM
Welcome aboard mate enjoy your stay

Maxhead
30th January 2012, 07:17 AM
G'Day Dave, welcome to the forum mate

the evil twin
30th January 2012, 04:23 PM