PDA

View Full Version : Mississippi Member

Dr Gary
19th January 2012, 03:41 PM
I am new to the forum. I have a 2006 GU. It followed my 1991 GQ which provided sterling service.
I am retired and enjoying finally using all the toys.
"Dr Gary"

mikewrigley
19th January 2012, 03:46 PM
Welcome Dr, I'm a newbie myself (though I'm new to both 4wd, patrol ownership and this forum!!! Just in the process of getting my 97 GQ ship-shape and ready for action. Everyone's been great to me so far and I think the forum can answer more than the manual (my trouble is, I don't know what any of the parts are actually called so need the diagrams for that!!! Trade engineer but not on cars!).

Happy retirement!!!! :)

AB
19th January 2012, 03:53 PM
Welcome to the forum mate, feel free to ask any questions and join in the conversations.

mikewrigley
19th January 2012, 03:56 PM
Dr, am I correct in thinking you're from Mississippi? :confused:

Dr Gary
19th January 2012, 04:07 PM
While I am Australian, I did spend a lot of Quality time in Mississippi. I Earned my PhD there, and taught University. Loved it even is hot, humid summers. Alos had an 8 year stint in Texas-almost as good.

Dhuck
19th January 2012, 04:11 PM
Welcome to the forum mate

mikewrigley
19th January 2012, 04:14 PM
Well travelled then :) I've come from the UK myself (6 years ago) and (before the kids!) used to love travelling (well, holidays ;) ).

Only ever been to New Hampshire in USA though but was fantastic country!

Dr Gary
19th January 2012, 04:17 PM
For what it's worth, my GQ was a 1991 Maverick 4.2 and it was fitted with a Denco Turbo. Made it a super car and a pleasure to drive. Finally sold it after 14 years--little niggles like door locks, window winders etc etc. It wad a great truck.
The 3.0 Turbo GU I now have is more refined, body is worse, and power is about the same.
Good luck with yours

mikewrigley
19th January 2012, 04:27 PM