PDA

View Full Version : DIY Exhaust

HippoNZ
24th November 2011, 05:18 PM
Hi guys,

I just need some understanding here on what I can do about making my own 3" exhaust.
Does the pipe need to be made out of a special metal? - I'm assuming steel is the go?
When the term "straight through exhaust" is used does that mean the muffler - (the rectangle box thing)
is cut out of the situation?
The idea I had was to get work to cut/shape some 3" pipe steel then run a flexi pipe upto the manifold until I get my turbo.
Now what type of flexi pipe could I use that would resist the temperatures involved?

Just trying to get some ideas into my head....ones that will work anyway lol

cheers
Brett

YNOT
24th November 2011, 06:40 PM
I've had a go at making my own exhaust, and failed dismally, so I'm no expert on the subject.
Straight through generally means no mufflers.
If you go to your local exhaust shop and ask for some 3" pipe and a few mandrel bends (have a look under your car and try to estimate what bends you will need) you can cut and weld the system together piece by piece.
I don't know about flexi exhaust pipe that will do what you want, you can get braided flex sections but they are only short and won't bend the way you want.

Actually I just remembered I have succeeded in making a new tail pipe for my last GQ, I made it from bits of BA Falcon exhaust that I got from my last job. I cut and tacked the bits together and a mate welded it for me. It came out better than I expected.

Tony

david swb
24th November 2011, 06:59 PM
ok mild steel is ok to use will perish down the track so i recommend stainless steel & stainless steel muffler taking into consideration 3'' will sound throaty i imagine choose the flow of the muffler over all it will sound tough cheers dave swb

the ferret
24th November 2011, 07:16 PM
Yeah, stainless is the go, a long as yer ok with welding it, you can just weld it with ordinary steel welding rods or wire as stainless rods are very expensive.