PDA

View Full Version : Smoky and missfireing on start up

bennibopps
18th November 2011, 05:13 PM
Hi all im new to diesels i have a 4.2 turbo with 130000ks. On start up its quite smoky and miss fires for about 15secs especially when cold then comes good. Driving around you only get a small puff of smoke on gear changes. I wait for coil (glowplug) light to go off and listen for Glowplug relay to open before hitting starter. Am thinking Glowplugs am i on the right path?

YNOT
18th November 2011, 05:23 PM
Glow plugs is where I would start looking. Is the smoke white?

Tony

Yendor
18th November 2011, 05:39 PM
Sounds like it could be a glow plug problem.

You need to test that you are getting power to the glow plug rail (when the glow plug light is on in the dash).

Then you will need to check each glow plug and make sure it is not open circuited (you will need to remove at least the busbar from the glow plugs).

bennibopps
18th November 2011, 09:19 PM
Glow plugs is where I would start looking. Is the smoke white?

Tony

Yeh the smoke is a blue white colour. Will test each plug with multimeter. Will remove the bus bar and test from top of each plug to engine (earth) to see if they are open circuited. Any one know what resistance i should be seeing or is it if they are around the same resistance they are all good?
Hope im on the right track

Got a quote for new plugs $150 for set of six seems ok price.

wildgu6
25th November 2011, 09:19 PM
Quoted by Tim (Finly) when i had the same issue....Before buying new plugs, do you have a good battery system. A lot of time if power is down they won't heat properly. I also doubted as you are doubting me now. I was having exact same trouble. New battery, no problem since.