PDA

View Full Version : 15V to 14.8v AGm battery - Too high?

AB
18th May 2024, 03:09 PM
I just noticed my alternator is starting to put out 15v on start up and after 10 or so mins driving it would drop back to 14.8.

Yellow top Optima AGM, pretty new batteries.

Is that too high or is my alternator on its way out?

Might time for a new one and keep this as a spare for the Simpson anyway.

Winnie
18th May 2024, 06:23 PM
I can't answer your question mate but have you checked multiple meters to make sure it's not a misread?

Sent from my SM-S916B using Tapatalk

AB
18th May 2024, 06:26 PM
I can't answer your question mate but have you checked multiple meters to make sure it's not a misread?

Yeah definitely mate, I too was questioning my gauges and used two different multis and all three were same.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TPC
18th May 2024, 09:11 PM
I am not an expert but I believe an AGM cherge voltage up to 15v is good.

TPC
18th May 2024, 09:11 PM
Darren probably knows more

AB
18th May 2024, 10:38 PM
I am not an expert but I believe an AGM cherge voltage up to 15v is good.

Yeah I’ve read a lot of things on the internet with AGM and it’s such a mix bags of lollies with advice.

I understand AGM are ok with that charge but it’s only just come on so why I guess is my question.

MudRunnerTD
19th May 2024, 03:03 AM
Hmmm. Sounds High. A quick google tells me what i already though and that it may be a faulty Voltage regulator, if this is the case it is probably a very simple fix and any Auto Elec could sort that out quickly.

I did read though it could be a faulty Earth or Neg point. disconnect the battery and disconnect the earth off the Alternator and clean and reconnect and see if that fixes it.

Here is a quick vid to show removing the voltage regulator

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBvtBoceq00

This is also a very good vid mate. Watch this from the start but also the 8:50 minute mark he speaks about the Voltage Regulator.