PDA

View Full Version : Strange goings on when driving downhill under load

Winnie
12th April 2021, 07:38 PM
Hi all,

I've been chasing this problem for a few years now in my TD42 GQ, when driving downhill under load with no acceleration, ie driving under engine braking, occasionally there will be a loud clunk and it feels like the car slips out of gear for a split second before going back to normal. There is no warning that it is going to happen and it scares the shit out of me every time. It happens in both low range and high range, but only when in 4WD, usually the steeper the hill the more frequently it will happen. Worst case once every 5 mins or so.
I first thought it may have been a free wheeling hub and because I had some other issues with one, I replaced the pair and the problem persisted. I then thought possibly a CV. I did a GU diff upgrade with new CVs and axles and the problem has not changed. I did reuse the original diff gears but inspected them and they looked brand new. The ARB air locker in the front is about 6 years old.
I've got no idea where to look next, has anybody ever experienced this or have any idea what it could be? I am at a complete loss.

Rossco
12th April 2021, 07:42 PM
Hmm sounds weird, only a theory but maybe chain drive in transfer is slipping? I know they are usually bullet proof but could be culprit [emoji848] . .

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Winnie
12th April 2021, 07:46 PM
I've never seen inside the transfer case so no idea what's going on in there.
Could that explain why it happens in both 4H and 4L? Are you telling me that the transfer case will have to be opened up, at which point it would be madness to not install some reduction gears while there?

Rossco
12th April 2021, 07:57 PM