PDA

View Full Version : Negative Earth V Positive Earth

Wizard52
23rd February 2021, 12:20 PM
This will probably open a can of worms.
We had a very experienced (older) maintenance bloke come over to the Island to fix our generator and he commented on how much rust was evident on the outside. It sits out in the weather and considering lack of proper maintenance it receives, the 23,000 + hours running time is amazing.
He also commented that the old American cars that were positively earthed did not rust as much as negatively earthed vehicles from the rest of the world. How is this so? There must be a scientific answer for steel and electricity to make rust. I wish I studied chemistry at high school instead of just attending class.
If this is true, I can understand why they changed to negative earth because if a car did not rust away, they would not sell more new cars :tease::tease:

Truckus
23rd February 2021, 03:16 PM
Interesting considering cathodes and anodes used on ships hulls for corrosion prevention, normally the anode (positive charge) would erode instead of the cathode (hull), so if anything positive earth or in vehicles case positive ground points would likely encourage corrosion in the copper wire, same principle as cathodic protection..anyhow, too many beers and dead brain cells ago to debate so have a read here

https://mgaguru.com/mgtech/electric/et098.htm

and draw your own conclusions.

MB
23rd February 2021, 10:11 PM
Selfishly, this is a cool thread to read/learn hopefully answering my questions too Legends [emoji106][emoji106]
Some 25+ years ago I was given a task from the boss then (hard yakka Irish mentor :-)
Ran his DitchWitch dead straight under contract required along the Maribyrnong City River perpendicular to Melbourne’s west gate bridge.