PDA

View Full Version : Cracked rear drivers side spring tower.

Mudboss
4th October 2020, 08:29 PM
Hi All
Just found that my drivers side rear spring tower is cracked, and pushing against the rear brake lines. Gonna weld it and brace up the crack without removing the body, but i realy wonna know if i can fit a tower brace without takimg tho body off.
GU Wagon.

please help. pics if can or who has done it, howd you brace the crack, anything to help.

Hodge
4th October 2020, 08:36 PM
I'm unsure why you'd need to remove the body . These are fitted from underneath. Jack car up, springs out , direct bolt in. Drivers side a bit fiddly due to brake lines ... Took me half a day personally and I'm no mechanic.

https://patrolapart.com.au/product/nissan-patrol-gq-gu-boss-bolt-in-diy-rear-coil-tower-brace-kit

Sent from my Pixel 3a XL using Tapatalk

Mudboss
4th October 2020, 09:13 PM
wow iv never seen those braces before. thanks

Rossco
4th October 2020, 09:16 PM
Yeah you can fit without removing body. I did mine whilst doing a cab swap and was much easier but only did it then whilst it was a perfect opportunity. Just gotta watch the bump stop bolts I snapped one and it's pretty common, give it a good soak first and go easy. . What kit are you fitting?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Rossco
4th October 2020, 09:17 PM
Edit: I went the Boss kit also and are very good. .

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Mudboss
4th October 2020, 10:06 PM
the kit i was thinking of needs a 2" body lift, the one for utes aswell. the boss kits seem a bit thin, anybody realy put them to the test? i had a look at the super engi kits that have braces to the round tube?

Mudboss
4th October 2020, 10:08 PM
i see that you can buy a new weld in tower, stock nissan part. anybody fitted one? the weld on the top if the chassis looks a bit tricky to cut off

MudRunnerTD
4th October 2020, 10:49 PM