PDA

View Full Version : gq safari granroad auto

steveh
15th June 2011, 08:30 AM
Hi guys, steve here, im new to this, from christchurch NZ, the heart of earthquake country,
ive got myself a GQ safari 4.2 diesel auto non turbo, jap import so i cant understand the operatimg instructions, this wont go into 4L with the engine running, is this normal?? whats the procedure for getting 4L in english please someone. cheers Steve

Bob
15th June 2011, 08:36 AM
Welcome Steve. Join in and enjoy. Someone should be able to help with your Problem

YNOT
15th June 2011, 08:43 AM
Welcome to the forum Steve.

You need to be stationary and in park or neutral to engage low range, and you need to push down on the transfer lever as you pull it back into low.

Tony

AB
15th June 2011, 08:53 AM
Welcome to the forum mate, feel free to ask any questions and join in the conversations.

Dhuck
15th June 2011, 09:04 AM
Welcome to the forum mate

katwoman
15th June 2011, 09:05 AM
Welcome, Steve...and stay safe

steveh
15th June 2011, 09:06 AM
Welcome to the forum Steve.

You need to be stationary and in park or neutral to engage low range, and you need to push down on the transfer lever as you pull it back into low.

Tony

thanks for that tony, i found it only goes into 4L in neutral, also what is the sliding button on the front of the shift lever, mines zip tied in the up position??
thanks
steve

YNOT
15th June 2011, 09:14 AM
thanks for that tony, i found it only goes into 4L in neutral, also what is the sliding button on the front of the shift lever, mines zip tied in the up position??
thanks
steve

Can you post a photo of the button? It may be a park lock out override, the park lock out stops you from pulling the transmission out of park unless the ignition is on.

Tony

Bigrig
15th June 2011, 09:19 AM
Could be the overdrive button - mine is on the stick also. Post a quick pic as Tony suggested mate and we should be able to identify it ..

growler2058
15th June 2011, 09:38 AM