PDA

View Full Version : Factory sway bar disconnect issue

8th December 2017, 07:18 PM
Hey guys,

So I'm really new to my GQ patrol (only got it last week). I noticed that mine has the factory rear sway bar disconnecy. Today I was playing around with it, and once activated I noticed that the dash light would stay on once the handle was turned and released (it had not been on at all before I disconnected it for the first time). I tried disconnecting and reconnecting it a few times, but the light remained on.

Finally, i got out and looked at the sway bar link physically, and I noticed that the sway bar is physically disconnected from the link. Is this supposed to happen? Or is it supposed to be still connected while stretching further? You'll have to forgive my ignorance, I'm still very new to car mechanics.

I've attached a picture of the sway bar link.

Regards,
Christian.

Edit: sorry if this is the wrong section, I didn't think to put it in drivetrain and suspension.

AB
8th December 2017, 07:27 PM
Hey mate yeah once you disengage the lever the light will stay on until you have enough flex for the sway bar to connect again.

Go for a drive and take some corners or mount a kerb or something and you'll hear it engage and light should come off.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

AB
8th December 2017, 07:28 PM
Oh just saw your pic...that's no good

8th December 2017, 07:30 PM
Hey AB, thanks for the quick response.

Is there a specific bolt that should be in there? Or do I need to replace the whole sway bar link?

AB
8th December 2017, 07:32 PM
Someone has just taken the bolt out mate.

http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au/forums/images/imported/2017/12/64.jpg

8th December 2017, 07:48 PM
I just checked the inside of the sway bar release and it's kind of just hollowed out inside. Do you happen to know how the bolt is supposed to be fastened inside it?

Is it safe to drive normally with it disconnected? Will the car just bodyroll a bit more around corners?

AB