PDA

View Full Version : New - to 4wd'ing even!

archangel
5th May 2011, 04:11 PM
Hi All!

Joined up to learn more about Patrols - as they seem to be the vehicle of choice for 4wding... I'll admit I'm extremely new at it all, but we all start somewhere! I've been a few times with other people driving and loved it, and now I have a 2 young boys, the wifey and I talked about getting a Patrol and having camping holidays...

I live in SE melbourne (narre warren south), and run my own graphic design/web design/signage business. Been married 4 years and 2 youngins as mentioned above :)

Thinking about a diesel GU2 3litre... Have been told the gu3 is the way to go due to engines blowing more easily on a gu2... or going for a petrol diesel as it will be a daily driver as well. Currently drive an xr6 turbo (few mods, nothing over the top) but wifey finds it a bit hairy in the wet :) (its only 220kw at the wheels!!)

Looking forward to the learning journey :)

Cheers, Nate

Bigrig
5th May 2011, 04:13 PM
G'day mate - welcome aboard. Great people, information and laughs on the forum, so don't be shy and join in to make the most of it. Enjoy!!

Clunk
5th May 2011, 04:16 PM
g'day mate and welcome aboard.

Dhuck
5th May 2011, 04:18 PM
Welcome to the forum mate

Bob
5th May 2011, 04:20 PM
Welcome Nate. Join in the conversations and enjoy the ride

AB
5th May 2011, 04:26 PM
Welcome to the forum Nate, have a look around, plenty of info on the 3litres here.

Will this be your daily driver, etc?

Feel free to ask any questions mate.

archangel
5th May 2011, 04:46 PM
Thanks guys - gee what a friendly welcome!!

It will be my wifes daily, (maximum of 200k a week) with the two boys, whilst I will probably either keep the xr6t, or look at a cheap runabout :) Dont have stupid ammounts of money to spend, we're looking at about 18k to begin with, and buying needed equipment gradually.