PDA

View Full Version : Complete Newbie with a great first time story

blakedut2
1st August 2017, 12:01 AM
Hi All,

Total newbie in the world of 4wd'ing and picked up a 1999 2.8 GU Patrol a few months ago. She's no 4.2, but she's enough for a beginner like myself (and is ready for some potential conversions down the road :tease:).

My first time properly offroad last weekend was certainly an experience. We headed out near Jerrawangala National Park along Deans Gap Road just for a real cruisy day in the bush, hoping to try out Mint Bush (first time offroad, it was scary enough for me) and get a taste for what this beast is made for. Part way along Mint Bush we ran into a real friendly group of blokes who suggested we follow along so that if we have any issues we can yell out - I thought hell why not. We cruised for a few kms and I was loving it!

Eventually it reached about 4pm and the blokes decided to head back and camp for the night, so they suggested we keep heading along Blackwood Road as it's the quickest way out, and to avoid Monkey Gum as it's quite a bit more difficult. As we truck along, we eventually realise we missed the turn off for Blackwood Rd and went a few hundred metres up Monkey Gum, so we turned around and started heading down Blackwood Rd. By now it's about 5pm and we're exhausted after a long day, and we just wanted to get home, so foolishly as the track got harder and harder we just pressed on because the maps showed that the exit was only 2-3km away and turning around was more like 6-7km. Eventually we reached some terrain that we should never have attempted such as a serious rock garden, some serious creek crossing with large boulders, and eventually a creek crossing with an obstacle we later learned was called the "gatekeeper". In our desperation to get home at 5:30, we just said fuck it and tried to charge over it. The truck got stuck. Completely.