PDA

View Full Version : Compression test results

dom14
7th July 2017, 07:10 PM
Hi Guys,

I did a compression test on my RB30 Patrol today.

These are the readings

6 ---> 180
5 ---> 175
4 ---> 175
3 ---> 175
2 ---> 165 oil squirted 190
1 ---> 190

I warmed up the engine before the compression test & opened the throttle wide.

My concern is the number 2 producing low compression than the rest and jumping to 190 with an oil squirt into the bore, indicates worn rings?!! Or can it be something else(head gasket on it's way?)?

Is it time for a new head gasket and head reconditioning?
Or can I hold onto it bit longer?

Thanx in advance for any tips/advice guys.

Patrol'n
7th July 2017, 11:50 PM
Hey Dom,

From my memory (been a long while since I rebuilt an engine), a low compression reading that increases with oil being injected into the cylinder is an indication of worn piston rings. That's just from my memory though, and not a mechanic by trade, so I jumped on the net and found the info below.

http://www.freeasestudyguides.com/compression-test-injecting-oil.html

The link above seems to support the worn piston rings, or maybe worn cylinder or bad piston.

http://www.popularmechanics.com/cars/how-to/a8520/cars-101-how-to-do-a-compression-test-14912158/

This link suggests that total variation between cylinders highest to lowest shouldn't exceed 10%, your figures suggest closer to 14%, so maybe some wear there. Maybe worth getting that rechecked by a good mechanic before spending any significant cash?

As to whether you can hang on to it a bit longer, I suppose it depends how it's running, whether you have any serious trips on the cards, if you have a bunch of folding stuff laying around etc etc...

Not suggesting it, but I remember my dad telling me a story years ago about his old HQ Kingswood, the red 202 blew a hole in the top of number 4 piston, he drove hundreds of miles before he fixed it, just kept stopping to refill the oil...

dom14
8th July 2017, 12:00 AM