PDA

View Full Version : steering oil+battery

chrissey
28th April 2011, 07:08 PM
Hey guys,

I am not good with mechanics but its been a bad day with my Safari so far. I have oil leaking out of a hose that is connected to a black container next to the battery on the right hand side. It seems to come out where the O-ring/ sealing ring sits.(is that oil for the steering) So my guess is that obviously needs to be replaced. :1087:
Apart from that it all started with an empty battery, when I jump started the car something started to smell like burned plastic and the air con + radio wont turn on anymore. I ve checked all the fuses under the steering wheel and under the bonnet but they were all fine.
As it is a 24V I thought maybe its down to the 12V jumper battery I used but I read this cant be the reason as it is 2x 12V batteries in line.
As well I rang the RACQ and the guy said the 2nd battery on the left hand side is flat and needs replacement but after driving around for a while the truck just starts fine.
Can you guys think of anything that will get my air con and radio working again. And do I have to be worried about the leak at the steering oil hose thing? Sorry I dont even know if the Nissan has got power steering?

Thanks up front for any help!!
chris

the ferret
28th April 2011, 07:29 PM
Sounds like a loose fitting on the power steering reserviour or a failed hose.
Also sounds like you may have shunted 36 volts through her, or shorted the system, the two batteries are not in line as you call it, they are in series, giving 24volts. You may have blown one of the fuses under the bonnet, or you have fried the radio, especially as something smelt like plastic burning, probably your under bonnet fuses.
My sincere condolences!!!

YNOT
28th April 2011, 07:29 PM
Photos would help to be sure but it sounds like one of your power steering hoses is leaking - all Y60/Y61 Patrols have power steering.