PDA

View Full Version : The Start of my Portal Axle Journey

Tony's 4.8
24th December 2016, 09:25 AM
Hi. Just a quick one to introduce myself. Name is Tony. I have had 2 Patrols in the past and now, after a brief visit to the dark side (Toyota), I am purchasing a 4.8. I have been dreaming of Portal Axles for 10 years now, and acknowledged 'you only live once'. The whole build will be centred around the installation of the Portal Axles (around April/May 2017). Hoping to get lots of information from the site and join in on a few conversations with fellow members. Hoping I may even get to yak to someone who has already been on the Portal Axle journey (please let me know if you know anyone).
Regards Tony.

threedogs
24th December 2016, 09:34 AM
Hi tony and welcome to the fourm , from memory another member is building a duramax portal
cant think of his name sorry.
Marks adaptors do the portal kits
Anyway I think you to start a members ride thread

Tony's 4.8
24th December 2016, 09:53 AM
Thanks. I have been in contact with Marks Adaptors about the Portal Axles. Half way there with the saving, and am planning on them doing the conversion in April/May.
Not sure what you mean about the members ride thread or how I go about it (newbie).
Tony.

Hodge
24th December 2016, 10:22 AM
Welcome Tony.
I sort of know a bloke who has portals on his wrangler. Am yet personally to see them on a patrol though. It is a expensive exercise.

Tony's 4.8
24th December 2016, 10:29 AM
It is, but needs to be put into perspective. I have budgeted $40K for this (last) build. The 4.8 was $14K. The Portal Axles are $17K. This leaves me $9K for lockers, wheels, bull bar. With the Portal Axels, I dont need to worry about a suspension lift.