PDA

View Full Version : EGR Block on CRD Patrol

azzacalabaza
7th October 2016, 07:14 AM
Hi everyone. I've now got my blanking plate and scangaugeII and am ready to give this a crack.

I read somewhere it's best to fully remove intercooler to get better access to the egr valve. I will try giving intercooler a good clean once off.

Is there anything else for me to consider with doing this?

I read the CRD ECU readjusts itself afterwards and controls turbo boost (whereas the DI patrol can have over boosting issues and need manual control)

Any other tips or links would be greatly appreciated. Is there a video of the whole process done on a CRD patrol?

I'm a bit of a noob with mechanics but like anything, willing to give things a try myself first.

Cheers,

Aaron.

mudski
7th October 2016, 09:02 AM
You shouldn't need to remove the IC but if it makes life easier then do it. Plus you can give the IC a good clean as you have said. Its not a hard job, just a bit tricky because of where its located. You will more than likely find the motor may overboost and the engine light may come on too, because the ECU will think the EGR valve is broken. As you have a scangauge you can just clear the fault codes and be on your merry way.

azzacalabaza
8th October 2016, 08:55 AM
Thanks mudski. I bought the blanking plate that has slots rather than holes to make it easier to slide in. I bought the scangauge mainly for the reason to clear the error code as i didnt really want a 10mm hole in plate as some suggest.

ThefattymattymkII
8th October 2016, 10:52 AM
Hey azza just a heads up after you blank it my boost levels spiked really bad and it gave me horrible fuel consumption on my 2014 CRD, the 401 code only comes up once every few months if you leave it idling for to long, it was a one longneck job installing it with taking off the intercooler

Crimpy
8th October 2016, 11:43 AM
I don't get why overboost can be an issue after fitting the plate. Anyone care to enlighten me?

azzacalabaza