View Full Version : Which mods first

Bentcrank
1st August 2016, 12:24 AM
Hi All,

Just after some opinions/options for some mods as my 2012 GU8 is due to come out of new car warranty soon.
These are my thoughts on mods in order.
1 catch can
2 EGR blank
3 3 inch exhaust ( Do i need dawes and needle valves to control boost in this model? Boost and EGT gauges?
4 2in suspension lift. Thinking Dobinson

TIA

GeeYou8
1st August 2016, 08:06 AM
I am in a similar position with mine.
I would have thought get the instruments in first so you can monitor changes, EGT probe means it is usually done with the exhaust (I am an Instrument Fitter by trade).
I had Dobinson springs in the GU2, same part number for left & right ended up with a list to starboard.
Graham

threedogs
1st August 2016, 01:54 PM
First mod would be to buy a Scan-gauge to monitor any
changes brought about by EG bigger exhaust, erg block

the evil twin
1st August 2016, 02:18 PM
1. Scangauge
2. Catch Can
3. Exhaust
4. EGR block (VNT adjust, Tillix or Dawes optional for this mod, entirely up to you)
5. Suspension

Bentcrank
3rd August 2016, 12:31 PM
Thanks guys, I was only thinking of adding the dawes as i have read that adding the bigger exhaust can cause over boost issues but on the other hand i have also heard that the CRD have better boost control and there is no need. Just a little confused. I guess i will get a scan gauge first and see what boost does with the bigger exhaust.

cheers

threedogs
3rd August 2016, 12:51 PM
Thanks guys, I was only thinking of adding the dawes as i have read that adding the bigger exhaust can cause over boost issues but on the other hand i have also heard that the CRD have better boost control and there is no need. Just a little confused. I guess i will get a scan gauge first and see what boost does with the bigger exhaust.

cheers

You might want to factor in another $400 for a fully tigged intercooler,
when your OE one shows signs of oil patches, chances are its leaking.