PDA

View Full Version : Conversion tb45e to td42

jgoose
13th June 2016, 04:37 PM
Hi all ive just finished my conversion from a TB45e to a TD42 t. Now i havnt done the turbo yet but have been driving my gu around for about 5k with not a problem i started by purchading a td42 about 12 mths ago & have been slowly converting it with the alt on the right side etc but fue to fighting cancer its been a slow slog untill the tb45e died so in went the td42 & i also used the old tb45e TPS instead of fitting the ZD30 pedal if anyone is interested i can post some pics i have done all of this conversion by myself as im a plant mechanic & make any brackets that are required so if anyone wants to know anything drop me a line

Touses
13th June 2016, 04:43 PM
Heya bloke, if you got piccies that would be tops. Hope you're kickin that cancers arse!

jff45
13th June 2016, 05:29 PM
I'm sure a TB45E to TD42 conversion will interest lots of people especially if you've done things a little different to others.
The mention of TPS suggests you also used the auto trans. I couldn't find a practical way to reuse the TB45 TPS so I used the ZD30 unit.
I had belt vibration issues with the alternator on the right side so I mounted a tensioner pulley.

It would be good to see pics of what you've done.

Bigcol
13th June 2016, 07:57 PM
welcome mate, sounds like you have been fairly busy, what with kicking the Big C, and this project

I my self dont need it, but, hey, I would LOVE to see the piccies of what you did, and how you did it, sounds great

jgoose
14th June 2016, 12:46 PM
Thanks for the words of encuragment re the BIG C hopefully its all done & dusted now both cancers were found by accident while chasing problems from a work place accident but onward upward