PDA

View Full Version : Anyone pulled out a Toyota spacia/ tarago / townace radiator before?

mudnut
19th April 2016, 01:50 PM
As the heading says, I need to pull the radiator out of Mrs mudsane's crappy old van. I have never done it before so don't know where to start as the little sucker is buried in there. Any advice is welcome, apart from the suggestion to scrap the van, which I have wanted to do for the last year or so.

threedogs
19th April 2016, 01:53 PM
Ill get back to you asap when my son returns
He did this stuff all the time

mudnut
19th April 2016, 02:07 PM
Cheers John. I have done the head on the engine years ago, but I've never pulled a radiator on van so don't know whether to take out the seats or to drop it out from under the van. Mrs mudsane was on her way to Melbourne last night and the radiator popped at Colac. The RACV mech seems to think a stone has holed it. There is too much water coming out to use Seal Tite or the like, so I think the radiator has split.

We have been in the RACV Total Care for ages and it has payed for itself. Mrs has a hire car and the van got dropped of just now.

threedogs
19th April 2016, 02:25 PM
Could it be a split hose or is the coolant/water coming out the middle of the radiator.
Id say it comes out from underneath, but Ive never seen one done before,
either way its going to be a PITB

garett
19th April 2016, 02:35 PM
seats out for hiace. town ace open bonnet .... well the one i know. good luck i hate vans

mudnut
19th April 2016, 02:36 PM
Yeah, you are not wrong. I can't see any moisture near the hoses. Its coming out of the core. It is only 483,000 Ks old. Would expect a better run that that wouldn't you? :)

mudnut
19th April 2016, 03:42 PM
Hi ho Hi ho to gut a van I go. Radiator ordered, seats to be taken out :( At least mudnutette can help me lift the bastards out when she gets home from work.

mudnut
19th April 2016, 06:49 PM