PDA

View Full Version : Permit Required for aftermarket fuel tank? Why?

Whyme016
14th March 2016, 01:50 PM
Hi Guys,

Newbie here. Just wanted to find out if anyone in WA has had issues with requiring a permit for an aftermarket fuel tank?
We had the vehicle examined this morning to remove a defect notice and the mechanic said it has an aftermarket fuel tank that requires a permit. The car is a 91 GQ Ti Wagon and has Petrol and LPG. The tank in question is a alloy tank and sits under the rear passenger seat drivers side.

I am a bit lost on what to do regarding this. Never heard of this before? If it needs a permit why didn't it get one initially when the gas system was installed and certified?

Hodge
14th March 2016, 02:04 PM
The tank in question is a alloy tank and sits under the rear passenger seat drivers side.

Hey mate welcome to the forum.
When you say under the seat? You mean inside the vehicle? Maybe that's why. As far as I am aware you're not allowed to carry fuel containers (including tanks) inside the vehicle.
Somebody correct me if I'm wrong on this.
And I'm writing this under the assumption that you indeed meant the tank is inside of the car.

Whyme016
14th March 2016, 02:05 PM
No the tank is under the vehicle but its location is under the passenger seat.

the evil twin
14th March 2016, 02:11 PM
Something is a bit odd then.
That is the location of the factory sub tank so it isn't the positioning obviously.
Probably 1/2 or more of the GQ's on the road have been converted to LPG and use the sub tank for the Petrol supply.
The mechanic wasn't talking about the LPG tank needing recertification was he... and the LPG certification and mod plates are OK?

Hodge
14th March 2016, 02:12 PM
No the tank is under the vehicle but its location is under the passenger seat.

Understood. In that case I render my above comment useless. Sure someone here will come up with a good answer shortly.

4bye4
14th March 2016, 02:27 PM