View Full Version : Bit of advice please

Patrol'n
1st February 2016, 12:36 AM
Hi all,

I am helping a mate with his purchase of a GU patrol.

He has a line on one that seems good, 2002, ZD30 wagon, very tidy in the pics, for $10,500.

Overall it seems worth a look, and has the EGR and Dawes mods and turbo has been rebuilt etc.

I am happy to check the usual stuff like chassis, body, leaks, interior, how it drives and such, my main questions are,

1. With 351000 ks, does the ZD30 have a good service life ahead of it and is it likely to need work on the injectors and pump or any other expensive maintenance any time soon?
2. It has an LPG injection system fitted. I have no experience with these systems, and there is plenty of conflicting info on the net. Should we just steer clear of it, or is it still worth a look? If so are there any red flags I should look out for?

Thanks as always.

dom14
1st February 2016, 02:01 AM
I haven't seen or heard of a bi-fuel (diesel & LPG) Patrol.
ZD30 engines are quite a handful on it's own.
I would ask for some expert advice.

BigRAWesty
1st February 2016, 08:09 AM
Personally I would walk away..
That's a lot of k's.
And the gas system.. why have they fitted it to a turbo deisel?
Gas is supposed to aid a NA engine in getting a better burn..
Unsure why they would add it?
But also what Dom has said.. it adds extra complications to a very technical engine..

threedogs
1st February 2016, 08:40 AM
Walk away its at the end of its service life IMO
A leaky IC will cost you $500 straight up

@ Dom14 Diesel/gas injection has been around for a while.
It gives a squirt of gas to give a clean burn of fuel.
For what you pay I dont think you'd see much difference on a well tuned ZD30

4bye4
1st February 2016, 09:57 AM
Hi all,

I am helping a mate with his purchase of a GU patrol.

He has a line on one that seems good, 2002, ZD30 wagon, very tidy in the pics, for $10,500.