PDA

View Full Version : Lights off with ignition

King_ady1
23rd November 2015, 08:17 AM
One for you electricity heads..

Looking at wiring lights to turn off with the ignition, as the Mrs is not use to checking them yet and it's not making me a happy chappy.

Any1 know if it's as simple as altering earth location? Or a solenoid job?

Any rough diagrams would also help.

Whilst I get some pointers, I'll keep searching myself :)

Cheers.

mudski
23rd November 2015, 08:58 AM
I would assume the power supply wire for the lights would need to be re routed to a relay which would use the ign power as the "switch" for the ignition. Sorry, I'm not good with words but I know what I mean in my head. Lol.

King_ady1
23rd November 2015, 09:06 AM
Ye I know what u mean. That's what I was thinking. Just don't know exactly how it wires in, Looking for clarification.

Hodge
23rd November 2015, 11:48 AM
I done this on my Navara. Just cut in a relay on the light circuit simewhee and had it triggered by a 12+ve from IGN.

I was thinking of doing something similar to this Patrol but add some sort of a timing relay once IGN goes off , it takes say 15 seconds for the delay to kick out. Giving you some lighting outside for that duration after you get out and lock the car.

Tapatalked from S6

the evil twin
23rd November 2015, 11:53 AM
One for you electricity heads..

Looking at wiring lights to turn off with the ignition, as the Mrs is not use to checking them yet and it's not making me a happy chappy.

Any1 know if it's as simple as altering earth location? Or a solenoid job?

Any rough diagrams would also help.

Whilst I get some pointers, I'll keep searching myself :)

Cheers.

The easiest way is a 'lights on' reminder buzzer.
Changeover Relay and a dinky little piezo buzzer or chime from, say, Jaycar
Energise the Relay from any accessories feed
Power from the park light circuit thru the relay 30 pin to pin 87A to the buzzer to earth