PDA

View Full Version : Old Owner, New Member!

Roller2
11th August 2015, 03:35 PM
Hi all,
I've finally got around to joining up to the Patrol forum, even though I've been following it for a number of years. Can't say I'm new to Patrols; bought our first one new, an MQ 3.3 diesel shorty back in 1982 and did 140K's of heavy boat towing back in the days when it was acceptable to drop down to 1st gear on some of the steeper hills on the highway. But the old MQ never missed a beat and I sold it seven years later for $2K for than I paid new. And yeah, always did my own servicing & maintenance, not that it gave any trouble at all.
After that, went to the other side and bought a 60 series turbo (from family) which gave good service for a total of 240K.
Then went back to Patrol in 2004 and bought a new GU111 TD42Ti wagon. As before, have always serviced it myself from new and it's been a great unit. This vehicle is used 90% for towing our 3500kg boat or 2400kg caravan so it does get a bit of a work out. So far have done just under 110K's in it without any problems (until now!). Have made a few minor mods to the engine; blanked the EG?? thing, added a 3 inch exhaust, larger top mount intercooler, and recently had Berrima Diesel do their full fuel service (excellent results!). However, a couple of days ago the GU refused to start leaving me a bit perplexed as to the cause. After quite a bit of checking, research and searching the net (including this forum), I've concluded that the CSOLU (coded solenoid device) attached to the fuel cut solenoid valve on the injector pump is at fault. This device is controlled by the NATS immobiliser system. At the moment the vehicle is with Mr Nissan who supposedly will connect their scan tool to the vehicle and maybe confirm my own findings. If that is the case, I'll probably take it to Rankin Diesel (Melbourne) who say they've disabled the CSOLU device for others and operated the fuel cut solenoid direct from the ignition circuit.