PDA

View Full Version : Front Diff Oil

OMFGITZDAV
22nd July 2015, 01:07 PM
Hey guys,
So since Ive had my little Dirt Turtle my partner and I have been fixing it up. 92 GQ Patrol TB42E EFI beast
We have came to doing the Front Diff oil and we checked it and it is a grey sludge... I'm no expert but that is not what it should be...
We also find there is a broken axle seal so we are now changing both front axle bearing and seals and oil but the question i ask you guys is....

How do i get all the grey sludge out from the front diff? Yes just undoing it and draining it will get most out but I need to do a deep clean. Does anyone know of an addative I can add to help flush it all out.. Need most of that shit out so i does not cause any more problems later on down the track after we change the bearing, seals, rotors, break pads and tires....

Help?

Rossco
22nd July 2015, 01:17 PM
Hi mate, I would just flush some fresh oil through first then fill it up. Not sure on any additives you could use maybe others might know. You could always check and do another oil change 1000 k or so down the track if it looks dirty. No way to get it perfectly clean without pulling the centre out which wouldn't be too much more work if the axles are out. I woulnt worry too much the magnet should grab most of the nasty stuff.

MudRunnerTD
22nd July 2015, 11:03 PM
While the axles are out on both ends jack up the short side and leave it for an hour and alot of what your chasing will drain out. As Rossco says though maybe do another oil change after your first off road trip. or just go for a nice drive through some fire trails in 4wd, nothing hard just a cruise to get the front spinning then go home while the oil is warm and dump and refill. Note the front diff centre does not spin unless you are in 4wd.