PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Norway - MK 260 "bastard"

GabrielMk3
28th June 2015, 09:33 PM
Dear all!

My name is Gabriel, and last Tuesday I became the owner of a very rare (rare in Norway that is) MK 260 RD28T Patrol with 7 seats, on a 1981 Datsun Patrol frame. As import taxes are extremely high in Norway, people bought 260s outside of the country, and put them on already registered, old frames - to legally cheat the system. So there is only a couple of 260 wagons in Norway now, as they were never imported. I've worked quite a lot outside Norway's borders, especially in Russia and Eastern Europe - but now I've finally settled back home, and bought a Patrol.

Anyhow, I've joined this forum because information in Norway is extremely scarce, and so is also the availability of parts.

Right now the problems are as following: rear left passenger door has jammed somehow - happened yesterday. Won't unlock at all.
The turbo is all oily. I am not an expert on the subject of automobiles, but I have worked on several cars and trucks in Russia. An oily turbo is of course nothing positive - but on the RD28T - what's best to do?
Except this, the radiator was leaky, which I've solved.
The diesel tank is missing its lid, as someone stole it while stealing diesel...

And a lot of other small issues.

I'm looking forward to work together with the members here to completely "restore" the car to a better condition.

-Gabriel

4bye4
29th June 2015, 12:25 AM
Welcome to the forum mate. Plenty of information here for you. Good looking truck by the way.

GabrielMk3
29th June 2015, 12:53 AM
Thanks mate! I'm looking forward to the Patrol-adventure that lies ahead of me! I'll try to get in touch with the Norwegian members here, for cooperation ;)

timbar
29th June 2015, 12:55 AM