PDA

View Full Version : Engine options

RTB
12th June 2015, 07:07 PM
G'day troops,
I have a 95 long wheel base patrol wagon with a 4.2 diesel (none turbo) five speed manual.
I want to replace the engine with something with a bit more grunt for towing and getting up those hills a bit better.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
I've had this vehicle since it came of lease in 1998, it's just a DX but it's a beauty with over 500,000k on it.
Has everything I need except the power to climb hills comfortably, and I'm thinking of towing a pop top van shortly.
So is it feasible to put a GU 4.2 turbo diesel into this vehicle ? Or any other options. I am not aware of.
Cheers

MEGOMONSTER
12th June 2015, 07:17 PM
Why not just turbo it. I'm sure many have done the same thing.

gaddy
12th June 2015, 08:30 PM
I'm no expert , but if the cars still good , why not give the engine a freshen up , add a gu turbo and intercooler and enjoy another 500 000 ks

RTB
12th June 2015, 09:00 PM
Thanks, I'll speak to the mechanic, check the real engine status. It might be the cheapest option.

threedogs
13th June 2015, 07:42 AM
Thanks, I'll speak to the mechanic, check the real engine status. It might be the cheapest option.

Have a read from Berrima Diesel page they turboed a high mileage GQ with no dramas at all.
If the compression all checks out, I cant see why not, and cheaper than kitting out another GQ/GU
to suit your needs.

nipagu7
13th June 2015, 03:06 PM