PDA

View Full Version : Timing Belt

OziPos
8th March 2011, 09:58 PM
Hi all. I have just volunteered to change the timing belt on my father's 96 2.8 turbo diesel. Would anyone have any notes on the procedure?

Finly Owner
8th March 2011, 10:02 PM
Oops, that'll teach ya for dobbing yourself into doing job before knowing how. LOL
Well welcome to Nissans Nut House anyways, OziPos.

Tim

my third 256
8th March 2011, 10:05 PM
before you ask questions and want replies it is always nice to give an introduction of yourself

OziPos
8th March 2011, 10:09 PM
Fair enough. Name is Paul and I used to be a mechanic many years ago. I read a few post on this site and found it to be the best source of info.

wildgu6
8th March 2011, 10:22 PM
Hey Paul, Welcome aboard mate,
Great bunch of people here with a s*** load of knowledge, experience and adventures to share.
Plenty of good laughs along the way as well.
Surf around and join in where ever you feel comfortable.
Post your Q in the mechanical descussion section. Some one should be able to set you straight.

Welcome aboard buddy and Enjoy the ride.
Hope you have a great 2011.
stay safe

Cheers Pete

YNOT
8th March 2011, 10:26 PM
Welcome to the forum Ozi.

As with any engine make sure it's on TDC and mark the position of all the pulleys before you pull the belt off.
It's also a good idea to replace the belt tensioner.

Tony

the ferret
8th March 2011, 10:42 PM
MMMMMMM, half ya luck!!Get yaself a new timing belt, tensioner and idler, best place is Nizzbits on this forum, Gary will look after you with genuine Nissan parts.
Radiator out, fan off,intercooler if you have one.
Chock wheels, handbrake on and in 5th gear, remove harmonic retaining bolt and washer, remove harmonic balance, remove plastic timing covers, mark position of injector pump drive,cam gear, they have indicators as well. Turn the motor by hand to line them all up
Wedge the injector pump drive gear with a wooden wedge so it won't move.