PDA

View Full Version : Buying a 1992 RB42 Advice

krisoder
17th December 2014, 04:57 PM
I apologise if I've broken any rules creating this thread, I will remove it if I have. Just looking for a little advice.

I just got rid of my 2001 Ford Exploder - mechanically A1 and a steal at 130k KM's for $5k but nevertheless I'm after something a bit rougher. I was specifically looking for a 4.2lt diesel GQ, but came across what I'm thinking is a steal - A 1992 GQ patrol RB42, 1 owner, 120000 KMS on the clock (not clocked over) :) Manual - comes with RWC and a years Reg. It's an old bloke who's owned it since new, now looking to sell it to me for $5k

Outside of the fact that it seems like good value, is there anything I should specifically look out for when going to test drive this thing? I'm new to Patrols and not too mechanically minded. Thanks!

BigRAWesty
17th December 2014, 05:34 PM
No such thing as an rb42.
It'll be a td42 - 4.2 diesel, and tb42 - 4.2 petrol, rb30 - 3ltr petrol.

Any link to the sale

krisoder
17th December 2014, 05:46 PM
Sorry, it's a private sale. Someone I know through someone and so on. Sorry, must have gotten the model wrong. It's definitely a 4.2 petrol, no gas even been in it.

BigRAWesty
17th December 2014, 06:04 PM
Well 120k on the clock is very low.
But 5g is definitely no steal. It's priced right imo.
4g would be a great buy. And then 1g worth of accessories lol.
Any pics?
The biggest thing is rust in these things.
Under front windows, rear sliding windows, gutters and across the top of rear doors are the main areas so have a good look.

krisoder
17th December 2014, 06:16 PM