PDA

View Full Version : Battery Terminal / Factory Earth Question

Bacho86
6th December 2014, 12:23 PM
Hey all

I need to get a new negative battery terminal that will allow the connect of a few accessories, namely a winch start with - however it appears that the factory earth connection to the battery terminal is soldered in? Patrol is a 3.0L CRD GU6

I assume this is something I'll need to get an Auto Elec to fix up - or is there another way around this? And how much would something like this cost?

Cheers appreciate your help

Winnie
6th December 2014, 12:26 PM
Cut it and crimp a lug onto it

big_fletch
6th December 2014, 12:36 PM
I'm an auto sparky by trade, cut the old terminal off close too the terminal and go down your local auto sparky for a cable end ( also known as a battery lug).
I think the size you will need will be a 16-8 or a 25-8. You can just use a normal set of crimpers for them ( will be tight but do fit).
Otherwise remove the whole neg cable and you can hammer the lug flat onto the cable.
Bit of heat shrink and good as new

the evil twin
6th December 2014, 12:39 PM
What Winnie or Big Fletch said... just make sure you get an excellent crimp result by using hydraulic crimpers or soldering... GU's HATE earth issues
OR
Replace the factory -ve cable with one from Repco/Supercheap/etc that has a ring termination on both ends

Winnie
6th December 2014, 12:54 PM
I'm an auto sparky by trade, cut the old terminal off close too the terminal and go down your local auto sparky for a cable end ( also known as a battery lug).
I think the size you will need will be a 16-8 or a 25-8. You can just use a normal set of crimpers for them ( will be tight but do fit).
Otherwise remove the whole neg cable and you can hammer the lug flat onto the cable.
Bit of heat shrink and good as new