PDA

View Full Version : TB45 from Melbourne!

aiKzo6
4th March 2011, 10:26 PM
My name Aiks and ive got a 98 series I GU with a tb45e turning the wheels. Its my 2nd 4wd and one that i hope to keep for a while so its good to know that there's so much forum support and info going around!

Im an apprentice techy for Audi during the week and salesman for Autobarn on weekends. Audi gives me the workshop/equipment to use 6 days a week and Autobarn gives me cheap parts :p Basically everything that ive ever done to a car has been done by myself, apart from a lot of auto electrical work which i pass off to one of my best mates who runs his own workshop.

I first got into 4wds because i was looking for a car that i could have fun in without losing my license, having already gotten several priors. I bought a ln130 Surf. My theory worked out pretty well, because i spent most weekends fixing the car instead of prowling the streets at night with my mates. Despite copping a load of abuse from people with patrols and cruisers, i can honestly say the surf stood up pretty well for itself. It really only got stuck a couple of times, got flooded out (first water crossing; rookie mistake :p), got put on its side once, and got towed home once (snapped steering rod in Toolangi). I was still a brat, and it wasn't long before i found out you can still be an idiot in a 4wd. I lost my license for it and i decided to sell the car because i wanted to start fresh and keep a clean record.
A couple of weeks after selling i started car hunting again and found a bone stock series 1 GU on ebay with just under 230xxx on the clock. It was owned by a female with kids and had no offroad history. I went to have a look and it was as described. Body was in good condition minus a couple of dings and scratches, and it was filthy inside. But there were minimal oil leaks and it ran smoothly. I managed to grab it for $10050.