PDA

View Full Version : Better performance by Advancing the Timing and Slightly Increasing Air/Fuel Ratio

Zhing1
18th October 2014, 06:53 PM
Back in the day. I would advance the ignition timing and increase the air/fuel mixture (enrich) to get better performance from my car. I was thinking of doing this to my GU with a TB45 Autotrans. The stock timing is 5° and I plan to adjust it a step up like 6°. Will do the same with the Air/Fuel Ratio. Has anyone done this? What are your thoughts on this?

mjr350
18th October 2014, 08:01 PM
Back in the day. I would advance the ignition timing and increase the air/fuel mixture (enrich) to get better performance from my car. I was thinking of doing this to my GU with a TB45 Autotrans. The stock timing is 5° and I plan to adjust it a step up like 6°. Will do the same with the Air/Fuel Ratio. Has anyone done this? What are your thoughts on this?

Is there a way to adjust the a/f ratio without tuning through the ecu. Im new to the tb45 fresh out of an LS1 commodore thats totally ecu controlled.

Zhing1
18th October 2014, 08:34 PM
The settings adjustments will done via the ecu. I know someone at the Nissan dealership here who says he make the adjustments.

jff45
18th October 2014, 09:09 PM
There's nothing you can adjust in the ECU. You could introduce changes to the MAF voltages but that will induce possibly unwanted timing changes.
You could also fit an adjustable fuel regulator and increase the pressure but this is all playing around the edges and is unlikely to produce any real noticeable result.

mjr350
23rd October 2014, 09:42 PM
So I gather the ecu isn't flash tunable like the later model commodores are. What about replacement memcals if someone has the correct definition files. How does it work for the tb45 turbo guys. Piggyback?

Drewboyaus
24th October 2014, 06:24 AM