PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

paraterra
26th September 2014, 07:13 PM
Hi All
My name is Tamer, I’m swiss and partially live in Paraguay where I own a used Nissan Safari Patrol. It’s not so easy down here to find out the exact model information about the used cars. Based on my research it seems to be a 3th generation, 1990 build, Modell MQ?, SD33T, 24V, manual mirrors and windows, AC, 4x4, 5 speed gearbox, engine assisted winch. It has about 400’000 km, the chassis is pretty good condition; no visible rust. I've attached an image of my car, if anyone can correct/confirm the modell information, please do not hesitate...

Buying second hand car down here can be a real nightmare; some more details further below… Additionally I have to admit that I’m not a mechanic and although I’m quite practical I lack knowledge about cars and their mechanical inner live; something I will have to enhance ;-).
My first choice was a Hyundai Galloper and it ended up being a disaster, finally I sold it with a loss and booked that as a learning experience.
Luckily I got to know another, retired old school mechanical engineer from Switzerland living in Paraguay. He helped me finding and buying my actual Nissan and will assist me with any mechanical work I’ll need to do.

My Nissan was as far as I know originally used in Japan, then got imported to Paraguay which means it got imported through Chile and was “redone” from right side steering to left side steering; a lot of used cars from Japan are going through this procedure and end up as cheap second hand car on the market here, they are called “via Chile”. A lot of times this side switch goes along with a horrible electrical and structural changes; I have seen some internals and it was schocking; all cables were redone with one color, normal 220V house hold cables. The welding for the structural changes were looking horrible…