PDA

View Full Version : What do you carry in your First Aid Kit?

Gecko17
9th August 2014, 04:17 PM
Hey all,

I was just reading 3dogs post about what everyone carries in their 4wd's and was pleasantly surprised to see that nearly everyone carries a first aid kit.

This got me to wondering what everyone puts in their first aid kits. For me, as a paramedic, I carry my trauma kit and O2 pack with resus gear as, if I come across an accident, I don't have a choice but have to provide treatment. (unless declined or they are already being treated by someone of higher quals.)

So, what does everyone carry in their first aid kits?

briscott
9th August 2014, 04:51 PM
Amongst the other stuff, I have 2 first aid kits, and the biggest lump of that is in bandages and crepe. That aside, I carry Burn Cream, Antiseptic, Anti spew/poo tablets, a range of pain killers, ventolin and a sharp knife.

I'm about to do a double crossing of the Simmo (2 weeks :) ), what would you suggest I add?

lucus30
9th August 2014, 06:21 PM
To be honest I have no idea its an off the shelf st johns one. I've only ever used the band aids out of it

Woof
9th August 2014, 07:30 PM
A lot of stuff, have only used it at work due to the lack of supplys there

NP99
9th August 2014, 07:56 PM
My most useful item is a pressure bandage. Got a good deal,on some Israeli army bandages....

Gecko17
9th August 2014, 10:10 PM
For what its worth, what your first aid kit contains will really just contain the basics then what you want to tailor it to ie, where your are going and for who long.

In general, a good kit will contain things like gloves, band aids, splinter picks, a few different types of bandages, a few containers of Normal Saline solution, a packet of Paracetamol tablets, a few non stick dressings, a pair of tweezers and scissors and that s about it. There are a few versions of this but generally they are pretty much the same.

In my opinion and my experience, a good first aid kit should contain the following;