PDA

View Full Version : installing 12v outlets into cargo area of GU

Mokman
5th August 2014, 10:32 PM
Good evening Forumites looking for a little guidance as I am a bit of a noob when comes to sparky stuff!
The situation is I have a 1998 GU TB45 dual fuel and I am keen to install a 12v outlet in the rear cargo area to run Waeco CFX 40 fridge with view to expand to other things like lighting in the future. To keep things simple and pretty numpty proof the plan is to run directly from the battery 8b&s cable with an inline fuse through the firewall into the cabin behind the panels and trim to the rear LHS internal inspection panel.
The big questions I have are as follows....
1. I know this one will sound dumb but here goes how is the best way to get the cable through the fire wall with out going making a hash of it.

2. What sized fuse should I be looking at ?

3. Is the plan a sound one or is the missus likely to find a pile of ashes?

Any feedback or guidance would be greatly appreciated!

megatexture
5th August 2014, 10:39 PM
There is a large grommet under the rear quarter panel, you could run your cable along the chassis rail an in that grommet there is a left and right one so take your pick.

If you went the left side you could use one of these panels or just put in some flush mount cig/ merit plugs https://www.autoelec.com.au/ssl/public_autoelec/store_v2/product_detail.asp?id=2123&cat=52

lucus30
5th August 2014, 11:54 PM
Good evening Forumites looking for a little guidance as I am a bit of a noob when comes to sparky stuff!
The situation is I have a 1998 GU TB45 dual fuel and I am keen to install a 12v outlet in the rear cargo area to run Waeco CFX 40 fridge with view to expand to other things like lighting in the future. To keep things simple and pretty numpty proof the plan is to run directly from the battery 8b&s cable with an inline fuse through the firewall into the cabin behind the panels and trim to the rear LHS internal inspection panel.