PDA

View Full Version : Introducing Soupfor1au

soupfor1au
10th July 2014, 08:49 AM
Hello to all members. My name is Soup & I am a complete newbie to the 4wd community. I have very little mechanical aptitude and probably will add very little in the way of advice in the short term. I am a quick study however & guess within a decade I may to answer at least one 4wd related question. That being said I am a good carpenter so if anyone has a wooden Patruck I may be able to help sooner.
The main goal for my GU is to make it as economical as possible while increasing it's 4wd capabilities slightly. ( not quite ready to tackle mountains yet). It's basically stock except for ali front bar, IPF spotties, dash mat & RMW seatcovers.
I know as it's 10 yrs old things will start to go awry & I will take the opportunities to improve or upgrade if it makes sense.
Looking forward to joining in discussions.

Hardyards
10th July 2014, 09:13 AM
Hi Soup,
Welcome to the forum. You have a nice blank canvas, check out the build threads and watch your savings dwindle as you try to incorporate all the amazing ideas!
Being a good carpenter, at least you should have some awesome home built draws soon :p

AB
10th July 2014, 09:17 AM
Welcome to the forum mate, feel free to ask any questions.

threedogs
10th July 2014, 12:41 PM
Hi Soup you should travel with Cuppa sorry had to say it LOL 'Anyway
I have heaps of timber related questions you can answer, but in the
meanwhile jump in anytime and enjoy;
What motor does your GU have??

soupfor1au
10th July 2014, 02:07 PM
G'day threedogs.
3.0L diesel maunal transmission.
I noticed you have NADs + heaps of other cool sounding stuff on your Trol. Did the intercooler & 3" improve your economy at all?
I have been reading through a few of the threads and a bit confused if it's worth exploring any engine of breathing mods. I really want to maximise the economy of the old girl. At least for now.

Avo
10th July 2014, 02:09 PM