PDA

View Full Version : Injector problem

RTB
6th June 2014, 09:27 AM
G'day
I'm a newbie to this site. Have a 95GQ 4.2D beautiful beast, over 500k on the clock, only One clutch replacement, regular services and everything going fine until recently.
Lent the car to my son for a weekend, the temp gauge was high and the car started running a bit rough. He had it towed to a mechanic, who advised the thermostat was jammed open? The car was repaired by this guy who replaced the pistons, rings, big end bearings, head gasket, radiator coolant, oil, and of. Course the thermostat. My son paid for all of this. Hum!
The vehicle was returned to me, but in just over a thousand kilometres the engine got hot real quick and. Stopped whilst driving down the M1 (old F3) at approx 90km/h
The vehicle was towed to the same guy (unfortunately) due to him doing the repair previously. He advised that the engine got hot and stopped due to an injector failure and advised no warranty and a new engine or second hand one required.
I've had diesel vehicles since the eighties, had injector problems, and had them replaced, but nothing suggesting engine replacement, especially after what I consider to be significant engine work just being done. Any suggestions would be. Greatly appreciated.

Parksy
6th June 2014, 12:03 PM
My first step would be to pull the sump off and inspect the sump and oil for metal particulate and take photos. If there are contaminates, my suggestion is a shoddy rebuild, as you can't just put in new bearings without checking a lot of other things. This is just to help you gain any possible warranties as your mechanic sounds like a dog.

nissannewby
6th June 2014, 12:39 PM
It's a hard one. Sure there may have been some dodgy work but you have driven to the point where it has shutdown because of overheating which will make warranty very hard.

RTB
6th June 2014, 04:12 PM