PDA

View Full Version : Head removal l28 lwb mq

grahamap
1st May 2014, 08:35 PM
Engine has been chewing copious amounts of oil and coolant so I removed the head to take a gander and I was met with this:

Some of the holes in the head were filled with rust and crud. Basically this is my first project so its all a learning experience, that being said getting her running efficiently is the main goal. Will be changing gaskets and seals and probably piston/rings but I hope someone can chime in with an experienced eye and point out some other things that look to be suspect
Cheers!

Parksy
1st May 2014, 08:49 PM
When you removed the head did the head gasket have any obvious damage? If it looked complete and intact you may need to get the head crack tested. Grab a steel rule (1m) and check with a feeler gauge that your head is flat. I don't know what the limit is off the top of my head, but anything over 0.2mm is too big I believe(to give you an idea of how little warpage is too much).
Make sure you completely clean the mating surfaces. Must be completely clean before reassembly.

grahamap
1st May 2014, 09:00 PM
The coating of the metal was worn and rubbed away but no full on splits. The area of the gasket that goes around the timing chain was flimsy and creased. After a long coast downhill it would pump smoke and I could see water and oil squirting lightly from what appeared to be the intake gasket around the center of the head (perhaps crack? But I cant obv see one). Compression was low in cylinders 4 and 3 so that seems to be the troubled area

grahamap
2nd May 2014, 07:44 AM
Just curious on what some of the gunky build up would tell, also the colour difference. Hard to judge by pictures but how are the bores looking? Best case id just want to replace rings and not have to go for oversized pistons!

Anyway gonna attempt to compress the valve springs with vice grips today, we will see what happens hah

grahamap
2nd May 2014, 03:52 PM