PDA

View Full Version : First patrol!

grahamap
30th April 2014, 07:15 AM
Hey names graham just picked up a 1982 mq lwb 355k. Its my first 4wd and I thought id use it for fanging (l28 4spd hahah) around wa/gero/denham/narvon area.. needs a lot of tlc but its my first project and im having fun learning the ins and outs.. currently been re upholstering the interior, new vinyl and freshly painted dash and other bits and pieces. Tore out all the rotten carpets cause the previous owner seemed to be carting around vats of goat piss. Rewired most of the electrics and installed keenwood b/t head unit/6x9s in the front (cause I can)/sony 4chnl amp and 6" in the cargo area. Had to fix what the last owner messed up, didnt have the memory connected and power was on a constant (didnt work with the key)..
Removed the strip decals, painted the trim over the wheelwells, painted the grill and bumper (tried to form the bumper back into place but its still far from perfect.. basically lots of painting and cleaning

Recently ive noticed shes pumping smoke during long decents on hills so ill be tearing into the engine in the next couple days.. lets pray its not the head or rings and I can fix with vrs kit! Not fussed if it needs new parts, got a donar datsun in the backyard..
To do list:
Get engine running 100%
Replace shockies 2" lift, dampener
Level out cargo area and build draws
Dual batts

The more I read these progress blog threads the more stuff I find to buy/install
. I can see this project being endless but I love it.. im fairly new to stuff like this so excuse my ignorance regarding patrols but im learning and I will definitely have lots of questions!!

(When I got her, currently @ my dads in nsw)

Dhuck
30th April 2014, 07:16 AM
Welcome to the forum mate.

grahamap
30th April 2014, 07:19 AM
More pics of blue steel

SundownerCamper
30th April 2014, 07:21 AM
Love the name. Welcome aboard

grahamap
30th April 2014, 07:23 AM