PDA

View Full Version : More about me

molongmick
5th February 2011, 10:45 PM
Hi there, it has been great on here and I thought I might post up some more info on me and my life.

I am approaching to big four O this year and have done a lot of travelling in my time on this wonderful planet.

I started my life in a small coastal town called Woonona in New South Wales just north of Wollongong. This is where I did most of my growing up. My main hobbies at that time was bushwalking, fishing, camping, cycling and going to the beach. I went to school at Woonona then to uni at Wollongong University. This is where I completed my Bachelor of Education degree.

After completing my degree I worked around the Southern Highland for just over a year, where I met my wife, no not teaching, but on the filmset to the movie “Babe”. We got married not long after.

About three months after being married I was offered a teaching job in the Northern Territory at Tennant Creek Primary School. We spent 14 months in the N.T. Unfortunately we did not see the big attractions while there as we thought we might have more time. We did manage to see a lot of the more unknown local sights due to local knowledge.

After our time in T.C. we ended up at Walgett. We were there for just over three years. Walgett was where I first had a taste of the patrols. I bought a G60 patrol from a local bloke who used it as a tow vehicle. I used it as a run around and hunting vehicle. Due to money restraints it was sold to a fellow enthusiast for the same price I had paid for it. Our main form of transport was a Rav4. It was a reliable little thing, but it was not a patrol.

After doing my stint as a ‘School Of The Air’ teacher in Walgett I ended up in Millthorpe, Central NSW, near Bathurst/Orange. I went through a Jackaroo and Bravo before getting a 2.8l patrol. I don’t think that patrol liked me. We replaced several major components before I bit the bullet and traded it in on a Rodeo.