PDA

View Full Version : Whats up ppl! From VIC!

GU_Mudstar
15th March 2014, 01:58 AM
Hi guys, been in the modifying game the last 6 years, playing around with sports compact cars, most notable my car of the past 4 years, my turbo charged Civic coupe, with alot of goodies, coilovers, bigger brakes, cooler, etc etc... tracked it few times, But ive been wanting to change it up in recent times, as my old man just brought a Hilux 4x4 last year, an ever since we went camping/bush bashing ive had the itch to really get into the 4x4 camping, and off-roading, nothing outrageous, but enough to get the blood rushing hahaha, as much as i love going to track days with a car built for track days, i still love the feeling of 4x4 off-roading, best of both worlds IMO

Ive been looking at GU patrols as a first 4x4, at most i wanna spend is 12k max as im still studying at uni, so kinda on a shoe string budget..... Ive heard alot of information with regards to the engine grenading than there are alot of Patrols out there with the same engine still going strong, so something must be a mist here...

Ive also looked at the prevention methods, most notable cleaning the MAF and the EGR mod, if anyone can care to shed some more light on this, there more than welcome to :)

Originally i wanted a Landcruiser 105 live axle series, but they are way over priced compare to the patrols and most of em are either poorly looked after or just simply too many kms, and for the moneys worth, IMO the patrol ticks the boxes with me, not just the power, but as an overall car.....

Planning on getting one in a months time, but i still need 100 percent assurance with buying one haha, so im still critically researching into these GU patrols, service and the engine troubles and prevention mods.

Cheers guys, hoping to hear, talking and seeing patrol owners soon when i get mine :D

krbrooking
15th March 2014, 02:48 AM
Welcome aboard mate, heaps if info and great bunch of ppl.