PDA

View Full Version : Radio problems

chrisc2306
17th February 2014, 05:48 PM
Hi guys I'm sure this has been covered a few times already but I couldn't find anything on the search. Anyway I am trying to get an aftermarket radio to work in my 1990 GQ patrol I have "T" into both the battery and acc cables beside the factory convertor on passengers side panel and ran 2 cables into my own 24v-12v converter but the problem is that when I connect it up it works but as soon as its put under load e.g. listen to the radio or plug in my phone to listen to music it just turns on and off all the time and its driving me crazy! The annoying thing is I'm an electrician and I can't get this to work! Any help would be greatly appreciated

liftlid
17th February 2014, 05:51 PM
Can the converter handle the load of the radio?

oncedisturbed
17th February 2014, 07:56 PM
Where does the 24v come into it?
Not seen 1 with a 24v step down at all, have you tried a direct power feed with fuse to see if it is the convertor?

Hodge
17th February 2014, 08:34 PM
Where does the 24v come into it?

Aren't some of the earlier GQ's natively 24V? I remember workmates GQ long ago, was 24V all around and adding accessories was a pita. Also Graham's shorty from 4wd action is 24V if i'm not mistaken? Sorry if that's not what you were asking mate. lol

chrisc2306
17th February 2014, 08:57 PM
It's a 20A converter that I am using and it is outputting 12v which it is supposed to do I just can't figure out why it won't hold it just switches on and off constantly

Winnie
17th February 2014, 09:01 PM
Aren't some of the earlier GQ's natively 24V? I remember workmates GQ long ago, was 24V all around and adding accessories was a pita. Also Graham's shorty from 4wd action is 24V if i'm not mistaken? Sorry if that's not what you were asking mate. lol

Japanese imports (Safaris) are 24V.

chrisc2306
17th February 2014, 09:06 PM
Japanese imports (Safaris) are 24V.

It's a Jap Safari that I have

tiny