PDA

View Full Version : Sub Tank General Questions

rookiepatroller
14th February 2014, 07:18 PM
Hi fellas,
I recently bought a series 2 GU ST 3.0L. Being a complete newby to the patrols I wanted to know if the sub tank switch was de-energised when the sub tank is empty? I would put some juice in and try it but it's in getting some minor things sorted out and nads etc. I'm thinking that if i can't switch it over there may be something at fault but if its just the ecu not allowing it to switch bcos its empty then I'm all good.

Cheers

Yendor
14th February 2014, 10:37 PM
There is a low fuel sensor in the sub tank and a full fuel senor in the main tank.

The transfer pump will not work if the sub tank is empty or the main tank is around/above 3/4 full.

If you push the fuel transfer switch (engine running) with the sub tank empty the light in the switch should come on for a couple of seconds then go out.

my third 256
15th February 2014, 06:16 AM
engine doesnt draw from sub tank it only transferes to main tank
With the sub full or with fuel in it and the main low push the switch in and aorange light shows on mine.
Fuel is now transfering but its slow, takes maybe 1/2 to an hour to pump over.
F Y I ...re the sub tank , if you undo both fuel caps you can see the fuel being pumped into the main tank from the sub tank from near the opening .....interesting ...i thought it was pumped straight into the main through the guts ....anyhow this is one way to see if fuel is going in, if you dont have any warning light issues that is ....!!!!!!

rookiepatroller
15th February 2014, 11:23 AM
There is a low fuel sensor in the sub tank and a full fuel senor in the main tank.

The transfer pump will not work if the sub tank is empty or the main tank is around/above 3/4 full.

If you push the fuel transfer switch (engine running) with the sub tank empty the light in the switch should come on for a couple of seconds then go out.