PDA

View Full Version : Is it a lemon?

chewindust
10th February 2014, 07:54 PM
Hi everyone.
I'm new to Patrols and even newer to the forum. I have a 2003 series 3 Patrol wagon and have had it only 5 months. It has a 3.0 ltr engine and has started having problems of recent. In talking to a few different people, some of them have admitted they don't know much about diesel engines and others know a small amount about them, but others have said to get rid of it because its a lemon and things will only get worse. I like to think that that is only their opinion but I myself have extremely limited knowledge of diesels and am honestly not sure. Is it worth me taking the time and spending some money to fix it up or would it be better to trade it in and go for another vehicle?

happygu
10th February 2014, 08:02 PM
Not sure if I would call lemon or not without any information......

There have been quite a few with engine problems, a few that have had problems and been diagnosed as blown pistons without actually confirming anything properly and probably weren't, and lots that are cranking out the high kilometres.....

My old 2003 model has been good as gold, and must be over 280,000 klms by now ( was 270,000 a while back ).

There was a known issue with the early ones 2000-2002, but I know one which never got warmed up every day - morning and night, just jumped in - turn the key, and off like a rocket ..... over 320,000 klms with no issues.

Mic

Stropp
10th February 2014, 08:03 PM
what exactly is wrong with it and do you know if it has NADS done to it?? if you dont know what NADS is then use the search function to get the info, that will be the first thing you need to do.

Clunk
10th February 2014, 08:52 PM
as Mic said, it's very hard to call something a lemon without first knowing what the issues are.

Avo
10th February 2014, 09:16 PM
if it's yellow and leaves a sour taste in your mouth, it's a lemon...

AB
10th February 2014, 09:37 PM