PDA

View Full Version : Another Battery Question

dom14
23rd January 2014, 08:18 PM
Hi Guys,
I've been re-searching for a suitable battery for my 1990 GQ Patrol RB30 manual.

I'm leaning towards not putting the same kind of sealed no-maintenance heavy duty RACV battery.

1)For an unclear reason, I prefer batteries that I can maintain, rather than sealed ones. I don't seem to be able to find a 4WD, heavy duty battery(above 650cc) that needs maintenance and not sealed.
Are there any unsealed 650-900cc batteries out there at all?

2)Are the Optima yellow top batteries(AGM, dual purpose) any good value for the money?
They are over $300 to get a one around 700cc.

3)Are the calcium batteries any good? I can get a one around 920cc, which will fit into the
battery bay narrowly, and it's damn good price, suspiciously though. The seller claims it's
old(over a year old) stock and only give one week warranty. It will be fully charged when I pick it up.
Is there anything I need to be aware of if I'm to get this Calcium battery? It's an ACDelco battery.

Thanks for any help.

MEGOMONSTER
24th January 2014, 01:37 AM
Hi Guys,
I've been re-searching for a suitable battery for my 1990 GQ Patrol RB30 manual.

I'm leaning towards not putting the same kind of sealed no-maintenance heavy duty RACV battery.

1)For an unclear reason, I prefer batteries that I can maintain, rather than sealed ones. I don't seem to be able to find a 4WD, heavy duty battery(above 650cc) that needs maintenance and not sealed.
Are there any unsealed 650-900cc batteries out there at all?

2)Are the Optima yellow top batteries(AGM, dual purpose) any good value for the money?
They are over $300 to get a one around 700cc.

3)Are the calcium batteries any good? I can get a one around 920cc, which will fit into the
battery bay narrowly, and it's damn good price, suspiciously though. The seller claims it's
old(over a year old) stock and only give one week warranty. It will be fully charged when I pick it up.