PDA

View Full Version : Engine runs on after key is turned off.

aaron.h
1st December 2013, 01:19 PM
hello. I have just recently brought a Nissan patrol gu 1999 st 4.2l diesel. I have seen 2 different mechanics and been told different things. the engine runs on after keys turned off. petrol it would be timing but diesel I don't know. I have some knowledge of petrol engines but as this is my first diesel and first 4x4 I don't know a lot. (still learning). so I think they were trying to take advantage of that and make me spend big bucks when only a small problem. if someone could help with this would be much appreciated. Thanks Aaron.

Winnie
1st December 2013, 01:24 PM
It could be the fuel shut off solenoid. When you turn the key off that solenoid should stop any fuel coming through but it sounds like it might not be shutting properly and letting some fuel through.

threedogs
1st December 2013, 01:25 PM
Hi Aaron an intro would be the right way before asking for advice just something the forum asks of us all.
sure someone will have an answer for you soon though

aaron.h
1st December 2013, 01:34 PM
sorry. first time user. what do u mean intro? im a Capricorn and I like long walks on the beach. haha just laughs. i'll keep in mind. cheers

aaron.h
1st December 2013, 01:39 PM
thanks mate, sounds good my mate said same thing but wasn't 100% sure. is it easy to do myself or should I take to mechanic? im fairly mechanical minded, I do all my own servicing myself ect.

threedogs
1st December 2013, 01:43 PM
Just tap on forum header and you'll see introductions ,
just like a hand shake no harm done, tell us a bit about yourself and your Patrol

aaron.h
1st December 2013, 02:32 PM
intro's up. cheers

macca
1st December 2013, 04:03 PM
G'day Aaron, interested to see what answers you might get here, mine runs on once a month maybe and it runs rough when it does it.
Always thought the fuel solenoid has not completely shut off. Be good to know what it is.